You are here


State Board of Education adopts 9 new policies

The West Virginia Board of Education adopted nine policies during its meeting in Charleston today that will affect schools statewide.
The policies affect attendance, academics, health care and more. According to officials, the policies were available online for a 30-day public comment period, and those comments were considered for the policies.

You can view a description of each policy below,...


Fixing the teacher shortage

The following remarks were made by WVEA President Dale Lee to the State Board of Education on Wednesday, October 11 regarding the shortage of education employees –

President Campbell, Superintendent Paine, members of the Board-

I am WVEA President Dale Lee and I would like to make some comments regarding Policy 5202 and the shortage of teachers and other education employees that our state currently faces.

I am...


WV Supreme Court upholds state's denial of Nicholas consolidation
by Ryan Quinn, Charleston Gazette-Mail

The West Virginia Supreme Court has ruled that the state Board of Education had the right to reject the Nicholas County Board of Education’s plan to consolidate schools in Richwood, Summersville and Craigsville into a single campus near Summersville.

“The West Virginia Board of Education is entitled to utilize its discretion in approving or rejecting...


Kanawha plans to offer statewide online school program
By Ryan Quinn, Charleston Gazette-Mail

Kanawha County’s public schools superintendent revealed Monday that his school system plans to partner with the state Department of Education to offer an online school option statewide, and the Kanawha Board of Education unanimously approved a job description for a planned new executive director to run the program.

Superintendent Ron Duerring said the state...


3 WV elementaries named 2017 National Blue Ribbon Schools

Three West Virginia elementary schools are among the 342 National Blue Ribbon Schools for 2017, the U.S. Education Department announced Thursday.

Brooke County's Colliers Primary, Hampshire County's Slanesville Elementary and Taylor County's Flemington Elementary each won the award in the Exemplary High Performing Schools...