Teacher of the Year finalists named

You are here

Teacher of the Year finalists named
MetroNews Staff

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — The West Virginia Department of Education announced Friday the five finalists for the 2019 State Teacher of the Year award.

The finalists were winners of their respective county teacher of the year honors.

The finalists this year are:

— Adrin Fisher, English teacher at Fairmont Senior High School in Fairmont;
— Summer McClintock, fourth-grade teacher at Pleasant View Elementary School in Hedgesville;
— Jada Reeves, fifth-grade teacher at Bradley Elementary School in Beckley;
— Clifford Sullivan, fifth-grade teacher at Mount Hope Elementary School in Mount Hope; and
— Joy Van Scyoc, rotational art teacher at Moundsville Middle School in Moundsville.

The state teacher of the year will be announced during a ceremony on Sept. 12 at the Embassy Suites in Charleston