NEA Director re-elected; Executive Committee members elected and top awards handed out

You are here

NEA Director re-elected; Executive Committee members elected and top awards handed out during WVEA’s annual Delegate Assembly
WVEA Communications Staff

CHARLESTON, W.Va. − The West Virginia Education Association held its annual Delegate Assembly April 27-29 in Charleston and re-elected NEA Director Kim Bonnett to a new three-year term. Bonnett is a teacher at Leading Creek Elementary in Lewis County. As NEA Director, she serves as the WVEA representative to the National Education Association’s (NEA) Board of Directors.

The delegates also elected members to three-year terms on the WVEA Executive Committee, which is the decisionmaking body of the WVEA. They are:
• John Quesenberry, a teacher at Woodrow Wilson High School in Raleigh County. Quesenberry was re-elected.
• Adena Barnette, president of the Jackson County Education Association and a teacher at Ripley High School. Barnette was re-elected.
• Josh Weekley, former president of Wetzel County Education Association and a Technology Integration Specialist for Wetzel County Schools. Weekley was elected to his first term.

A number of key awards were handed out during the WVEA’s annual meeting. Those include:
• Connie Leuliette, a science teacher from Harrison County, received the WVEA Corma A. Mowrey Memorial Award. This award recognizes demonstrated leadership ability in activities which are unique and contribute to the advancement of women. Leuliette has encouraged young females in science and other disciplines, served on
scholarship committees and has been active in many community organizations.
• Mary Ross, a teacher at Webster County High School, was presented with the WVEA Phares E. Reeder Award. This award is given to a member for his/her outstanding support of a student, causing the student to improve school work and helping them to become involved citizens in the school and community. Ross serves as a mentor
and caring adult figure for students dealing with abuse, neglect, pregnancy and other crisis situations.
• Mike Ferro, former teacher and delegate from Marshall County, was awarded the WVEA Legislative Achievement Award. This award recognized a legislator who goes beyond the normal legislative process in support of education. Ferro’s record of supporting pro-education legislation is remarkable. His actions in the legislature demonstrates his advocacy for public education.
• Each local WVEA K-12 affiliate was awarded the WVEA Mary Titus/Janet Zevnik Award for Professional Courage for their efforts during the 2018 work action. The Mary Titus/Janet Zevnik Award is given for leadership beyond the call of duty during severe and critical circumstances when standing up for the goals and purposes of the

WVEA is the largest teacher organization in the state and is the state affiliate of the 3 million member National Education Association (NEA). WVEA represents teachers, education support professionals, higher education professionals and classified staff, retirees and college students pursuing a career in education.