Department of Education removes 8 counties from Financial Watch List

You are here

WV MetroNews

CHARLESTON, W.Va. — Eight counties are no longer on the state Department of Education’s Financial Watch List because of improvements in each system’s financial situation.

The department announced Wednesday that boards of education in Boone, Clay, Hampshire, Hardy, Lewis, Pocahontas, Summers and Tucker counties have improved their general expense fund balances. State officials also considered the number of personnel paid through local funds regarding removal.

“We are encouraged by the effort of each of these counties to resolve the financial issues that were problematic and remind them of the continued due diligence necessary to move forward with sound fiduciary practices,” state Superintendent of Schools Steve Paine said in a press release.

“Financial stability is more critical now than ever as many of our counties face population shifts and other economic factors.”

Calhoun, Grant, Greenbrier, Pendleton, Randolph, Upshur and Webster counties remain on the watch list for another year. The department added Brooke County to the list due to “significant one-year decline in its general current expense fund and the large number of personnel projected to be paid with local funds in the 2019-20 year.”

According to the department, the county puts the decline to a one-time building project expense.