12 teachers earn Arch Coal achievement awards

You are here

CHARLESTON, W.Va. -- Twelve West Virginia teachers were honored Monday with Arch Coal's annual Teacher Achievement Awards.

The Arch Coal Foundation, with support from the West Virginia Education Association, the West Virginia Library Commission and the state Department of Education, sponsors the awards annually.

Each recipient receives a $3,500 cash award from the Arch Coal Foundation, and each recipient's public school receives a $1,000 grant for use with at-risk students from the WVEA's West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education.

WVEA President Dale Lee joined Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin, first lady Joanne Jaeger Tomblin and Arch Coal President and CEO John W. Eaves during an awards ceremony Monday at The Clay Center in Charleston.

Congratulations to the winners: Pamela Bush, Logan Middle School, Logan; Angela Culicerto, Park Middle School, Beckley; Lorraine Davis, Tug Valley High School, Williamson; Rosetta L. Epifano, Sherrard Middle School, Wheeling; Adrin Fisher, Fairmont Senior High School, Fairmont; Corey Humphrey, Grafton High School, Grafton; Leigh Kinder, Gilmer County High School, Glenville; Mary Anne Mullenax, North Marion High School, Farmington; Valerie L. Mullins, Dixie Elementary School, Dixie; Sonya Shockey, Hedgesville High School, Hedgesville; Candace Smith, Tuscarora Elementary School, Martinsburg; Laura VanHorn, North Elementary School, Morgantown.