12 outstanding teachers achieve Arch Coal awards, $1,000 from WVFIE

You are here

12 outstanding teachers achieve Arch Coal awards, $1,000 from WVFIE for schools
By WVEA Staff

WVEA President Dale Lee joined Arch Coal officials Monday to deliver the Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award to 12 outstanding West Virginia teachers.

During a ceremony and luncheon at the Clay Center in Charleston, Lee said it takes more than caring, knowledgeable and dedicated educators in our classrooms to ensure our students get all they can out of their education.

WVEA has been a longtime partner in the Arch Coal Foundation’s annual awards. Lee joined John W. Eaves, Arch Coal’s president and chief executive officer, as well as Gov. Earl Ray Tomblin and West Virginia First Lady Joanne Jaeger Tomblin in presenting the awards.    

“I want to remind everyone that it takes a special person to be a teacher. It is not something everyone can do,” Lee said. “It requires specialized training and a specific field of study. It takes time to perfect and implement what they learned. Those that excel at their craft have a truly special quality about them.

“The teachers we honor today have that ‘special quality’ and they will probably agree with me that classrooms in their schools and the classrooms across our state are filled with other ‘special teachers’ doing all they can to help our students succeed,” he said.

The West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education, a foundation of WVEA, made a $1,000 cash award to each teacher’s school for use with at-risk students. The WVEA Foundation is funded by WVEA members.

Since 1993, when WVEA’s West Virginia Foundation for the Improvement of Education began, we have awarded various grants to assist with at-risk students totaling over $260,000.

“Our members are proud to be able to assist teachers in their classroom as they work to help students succeed,” Lee said.

Each award recipient also received a $3,500 unrestricted cash award from the Arch Coal Foundation, a distinctive trophy and a classroom plaque.

“The 12 educators on this stage today are representative of the dedicated teachers we find throughout our state who are doing their best to make a positive impact on all students who pass through their classrooms,” Lee said.

The winners of the 2015 Arch Coal Teacher Achievement Award are:

Debbie Ebert DeWees, McKinley Elementary School in Parkersburg; Tracy Lynn Duncan, Taylor County Middle School in Grafton; Cindy Evarts, Orchard View Intermediate School in Martinsburg; Rhonda L. Foreman, Martinsburg High School in Martinsburg; Kelli Jordan, Ona Elementary School in Ona; Demi A. Lewin, Rosemont Elementary School in Martinsburg; Lauren McCoy, Madison Elementary School in Parkersburg; Samantha S. Murphy, Nicholas County High School in Summersville; Jessica Salfia, Spring Mills High School in Martinsburg; Ashley N. Shaw, Montcalm Elementary School in Rock; Beverly Stern; Ruthlawn Elementary School in South Charleston; and Carolyn Ruos Thomas, Wildwood Middle School in Shenandoah Junction.